?

Log in

The Septagon Briefing #2: Conventions

Jul. 15th, 2008 | 02:31 pm

 Image

Written By: Dr. Preston Park Cooper

You want to make comics. Let’s say you’re a writer, which is what I know the best, being in that position myself. (What’s below will often work pretty well whomever and whatever you are, though.)

You want companies to pay attention to you, so you can get work published.

Here’s one way that many companies suggest doing this: come and meet them at conventions.

For the full article please click on the link below:
http://news.septagonstudios.com/?p=228


Link | Leave a comment | Share

Fourth Panel Estate #2: Caught by the Fuzzy

Jul. 10th, 2008 | 03:18 pm

 Image

Written By: Will Davies

It’s true what they say about critics. Even the bits about Dagon and the hibiscus plant. We’re all horribly bitter people who failed to succeed in their chosen field and have to resort to shouting at people from the side lines. Fortunately there’s nothing better than failure to prepare you for industry journalism because all that experience that you garner not making films, or writing books or whatever at least qualifies you to waffle incessantly about the work of your would be peers. But no matter how professional you try to be, no matter how high your brow, the bitterness always seeps through one way or the other. It finally got to me this week and as a result I find myself in a very awkward position, because this week’s comic is without fault.

For the Full article please click on the link below:
http://news.septagonstudios.com/?p=223

Link | Leave a comment | Share

7 Questions With: Ben Templesmith

Jul. 8th, 2008 | 03:32 pm

 


Interviewed By: NickD

Artist and Writer Ben Templesmith of the new comic book from IDW Welcome to Hoxford, stops by the Septagon News Blog to talk about his upcoming comic book. Fans of Wormwood and Singularity Seven should be prepared for another ride of fantastic art and great storytelling. And yea…there will be blood.

For the full interview please click the link below:
http://news.septagonstudios.com/?p=221

Link | Leave a comment | Share

Fourth Panel Estate #1: The Future's Bright

Jul. 3rd, 2008 | 03:18 pm

 Image

Written By: Will Davies

This is the Fourth Panel Estate, a column about web comics. Good web comics. Solely because I don’t have the vocal agility to rag on sub par junk. Also I lack a fetching hat and you can’t rag without the proper attire. I do however have galoshes which are the leg wear of choice for in depth review and bothering legitimate artists with inane and often pointless questions. I’ll be doing this weekly from now until one of two things happens. Either the column will bomb and Septagon will beat me up and leave me in a ditch or it’ll go really well, I’ll end up going too far and the secret web comic illuminati (read Dayfree Press) will come for me in the night with bolt cutters.

For the Full article please click on the link below:
http://news.septagonstudios.com/?p=217

Link | Leave a comment | Share

Promotionally Speaking #1: The Inauguration

Jun. 24th, 2008 | 02:08 pm

 Image

Written By: Susan Soares

Welcome to the inaugural edition of “Promotionally Speaking.” The journey we will embark upon in this monthly column is a familiar one for some, an unknown one for others and possibly a dreaded one for the rest. But it is an important journey nonetheless. This column is, and will continue to be, targeted toward those of you in the comic book industry.You may be an experienced creator who works for the “Big 3.” On the flipside, you may be a novice who has a story to tell and that’s all that matters.Each one of us has one thing in common – we want someone, anyone to read our stories, to admire our artwork.

For the Full Article please click the link below:
http://news.septagonstudios.com/?p=207

Link | Leave a comment | Share

The Septagon Briefing #1 Professionalism

Jun. 19th, 2008 | 02:16 pm

Image

Written By: Dr Preston Park Cooper

There’s something that’s important in the comics industry that, if you’re pretty new to it, you might think you would find everywhere: Professionalism. Unfortunately, it isn’t so.

I once made a proposal to a company which I shall not name. I told the story of what happened with this proposal to two different writer friends. Each of them had an identical initial reaction (and I didn’t tell them both at the same time, so one wasn’t just agreeing with the other):

For the Full Article please click the link below:
http://news.septagonstudios.com/?p=200 

Link | Leave a comment | Share

Septagon Studios to Publish Masks

Jun. 11th, 2008 | 05:28 pm

 Press Release

Septagon Studios to Publish Masks

Image

Toronto, June 2008: Septagon Studios Inc. announced today that Masks will be the company’s second project. Masks will be making its full-color debut this summer. Written and illustrated by Aaron Rintoul (Dollhouse, The Never) Masks is a departure from Scorn, Septagon’s first project, with Masks’ emphasis on highly-rendered photography and design.

Aaron Rintoul describes Masks as “a dark psychological thriller, a story in which certain details are left open to reader interpretation.”

Masks is a photographic poem as well as an exploration into the nature of identity. The story takes place inside the psyche of a girl named Sarah, who sees pieces of others’ past lives as well as memories of her own as she follows a phantom killer and his victims through a distorted reality.

Masks will be a great addition to Septagon’s line-up. It has great visuals with a subdued story that complements the book’s art style. Aaron, as both writer and artist, has done a great job with this piece, and we’re proud to be publishing it,” said Nick Defina, President of Septagon Studios.

Masks #1 will available be this summer from Septagon Studios; more details are to follow.
For more information on Aaron Rintoul and Masks, check out Aaron Rintoul’s MySpace page at:
http://www.myspace.com/aaronrintoul

For more information on Septagon Studios Inc or Masks, check out the Septagon Studios website, at:
http://www.septagonstudios.com

Sign up for the Septagon Studios Newsletter today for exclusive content:
http://news.septagonstudios.com/wp-login.php?action=register

###
About Septagon Studios
http://www.septagonstudios.com

Septagon Studios Inc. is a publishing company founded in early 2003 by company President and C.E.O Nicola Defina with his two cousins, Philip Defina (Vice President and Art Director) and Domenic Defina (Consultant/Art Direction). Septagon Studios has carefully positioned itself to occupy a historic place in the industry, and combining comic book publishing with creator services is just the start.

Septagon Studios Inc.
•Imagination. Creativity. Unleashed.
•For readers. For creators. For everyone.

Link | Leave a comment | Share

Visit the New Septagon Studios Forums Today

Apr. 20th, 2008 | 02:15 pm



Introducing the new redesigned Message Boards/Forums from Septagon Studios located at: http://forums.septagonstudios.com. The new re-mastered forums offer several new features including a section for fans to discuss Industry News, plus creators will be able to use this section to promote their own projects. The new forums also allow users to interact, upload pictures, and book-mark select topics for future reference without having to search them.

Visit the new Septagon Studios forums today by clicking the link below:
http://forums.septagonstudios.com/index.php
 

Link | Leave a comment | Share

Septagon Studios SCORN #2: RAGE Preview

Mar. 25th, 2008 | 04:34 pm

 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE



Official Press Release

Septagon Studios’ SCORN #2: RAGE Preview

Take a closer look behind the cover of Septagon Studios’ debut title Scorn.

The solicitation for the issue reads:

Scorn #2 (Rage) of 4
Written by Kevin Moyers
Artwork by Philipp Neundorf
Cover by Philipp Neundorf
28 PGS Full Color./Rated Mature …$3.75
On Sale May 2008
DIAMOND ORDER CODE: MAR083938 SCORN #2 OF 4) (MR)

The Story:

After saving one life and ending several others, Michael is now a fugitive. While he hunts Torres, two of Chicago’s finest hunt for him. Detectives Keane and Rice are hot on Michael’s bloody trail, but will they get to him before it’s too late?







The comic book will be in stores March 12, 2008; call 1-888-comic-book (1-888-266-4226) to find a store near you.

Retailers may order the issue by contacting their Diamond Customer Service Representatives, or by email at reorders@diamondcomics.com

DIAMOND ORDER CODE PAGE 338: SPOT JAN083866 SCORN #1 OF 4) (MR)
DIAMOND ORDER CODE PAGE 336: MAR083938 SCORN #2 OF 4 (MR)

For more information on Septagon Studios Inc or Scorn, check out the Septagon Studios website at http://www.septagonstudios.com.

For more information on Kevin Moyers and Scorn, check out the Septagon Studios website at http://www.septagonstudios.com/Moyers.html

For more information on how to order products, check out the Septagon Studios website at http://www.septagonstudios.com/Retailers.html

For testimonials and reviews of Scorn check out the Buzz page at http://www.septagonstudios.com/Buzz.html

Sign up for the Septagon Studios Newsletter today for exclusive content:
http://newsletter.septagonstudios.com/?p=subscribe&id=2

###

About Septagon Studios, Inc.
www.septagonstudios.com

Septagon Studios Inc. is a publishing company founded in early 2003 by company President and C.E.O Nicola Defina with his two cousins, Philip Defina (Vice President and Art Director) and Domenic Defina (Consultant/Art Direction). Septagon Studios has carefully positioned itself to occupy a historic place in the industry, and combining comic book publishing with creator services is just the start.

Imagination. Creativity. Unleashed.
For readers. For creators. For everyone

Link | Leave a comment | Share

Septagon Studios Solicitations for May 2008

Mar. 19th, 2008 | 07:38 pm

 

SEPTAGON STUDIOS FOR MAY

Septagon Studios Solicitation information for March Previews catalogue.

SCORN #2: RAGE
DIAMOND ORDER CODE: MAR083938 SCORN #2 OF 4 (MR) Page 336

Written by Kevin Moyers, Art and Cover by Philipp S. Neundorf.
After saving one life and ending several others, Michael is now a fugitive. While he hunts Torres, two of Chicago’s finest hunt for him. Detectives Keane and Rice are hot on Michael’s bloody trail, but will they get to him before it’s too late?

On sale May 2008 – 28 pg, FC, $3.75 US

The comic book will be in stores March 12, 2008; call 1-888-comic-book (1-888-266-4226) to find a store near you.

Retailers may order the issue by contacting their Diamond Customer Service Representatives, or by email at reorders@diamondcomics.com

DIAMOND ORDER CODE PAGE 338: SPOT JAN083866 SCORN #1 OF 4) (MR)
DIAMOND ORDER CODE PAGE 336: MAR083938 SCORN #2 OF 4 (MR)

For more information on Septagon Studios Inc or Scorn, check out the Septagon Studios website at http://www.septagonstudios.com.

For more information on Kevin Moyers and Scorn, check out the Septagon Studios website at http://www.septagonstudios.com/Moyers.html

For more information on how to order products, check out the Septagon Studios website at http://www.septagonstudios.com/Retailers.html

Sign up for the Septagon Studios Newsletter today for exclusive content:
http://newsletter.septagonstudios.com/?p=subscribe&id=2

###

About Septagon Studios, Inc.
www.septagonstudios.com

Septagon Studios Inc. is a publishing company founded in early 2003 by company President and C.E.O Nicola Defina with his two cousins, Philip Defina (Vice President and Art Director) and Domenic Defina (Consultant/Art Direction). Septagon Studios has carefully positioned itself to occupy a historic place in the industry, and combining comic book publishing with creator services is just the start.

Imagination. Creativity. Unleashed.
For readers. For creators. For everyone

Link | Leave a comment | Share